No Picture

About the Chicago Headline Club Foundation

July 31, 2010 0

 

WHAT: The Chicago Headline Club Foundation is a separate 502(c)(3) Illinois corporation entitled to receive tax deductible contributions. It legally may give grants for scholarships, internships and professional development programs.
WHY: In this time of change and challenges, education is more important than ever to journalists. The foundation works to…

No Picture

Watchdog Fund

July 13, 2010 0

You are eligible for a grant if you work in the greater Chicago area. Grants are awarded to full-time, part-time and freelance journalists for print, broadcast and online reporting.
Your request will be reviewed by a Chicago Headline Club representative who is not a member of the working press and who will not reveal…

No Picture

McCormick Foundation

July 11, 2010 0

WATCHDOG FUNDS AVAILABLE
Thanks to the Richard  Dreihaus Foundation, we are able to offer stipends to journalists who need money  for investigative reporting expenses, such as travel and records duplication.  For more information, contact Watchdog Chairman Tony Noce atasnoce@comcast.net (mailto:asnoce@comcast.net) .
INTERN SCHOLARSHIPS
Money also is available for internship scholarships each spring. We award $2,500 to deserving…

No Picture

Contact the Chicago Headline Club

July 11, 2010 0

Susan S. Stevens.  presidentSusanstevens@aol.com_ (mailto:Susanstevens@aol.com)Beth Konrad,  president ex-officiobkonrad@luc.edu_ (mailto:bkonrad@luc.edu) 
 
Hilary Fosdal,  membership vice presidentfosdal@uwalumni.com_ (mailto:fosdal@uwalumni.com)Ken Davis, programs  vice presidentKendavis27@comcast.net_ (mailto:Kendavis27@comcast.net)Abdon Pallasch,  FOI vice presidentapallasch@suntimes.com_ (mailto:apallasch@suntimes.com)Kristen  Schorsch, secretaryklschorsch@tribune.com_ (mailto:klschorsch@tribune.com)Howard Dubin,  treasurerhdubin@manufacturersnews.com_ (mailto:hdubin@manufacturersnews.com)Kathy  Catrambone, executive directorchc.kathy@gmail.com_ (mailto:chc.kathy@gmail.com)Jon Seidel,  mentorship and digital media chairmanjseidel@post-trib.com_ (mailto:jseidel@post-trib.com)Brian Pitts,  publicity chairmanbpitts@mayerbrown.com_ (mailto:bpitts@mayerbrown.com)Tony Noce,  Watchdog and Ethics chairmanasnoce@comcast.net_…

No Picture

Les Brownlee Journalism Series

July 10, 2010 0

 
Les Brownlee was the first African-American reporter for a downtown daily newspaper in Chicago, at the Daily News, and the first black TV reporter at a Chicago station. He coined “Eyewitness News” while at WLS-TV. He was the first black member of the Society of Professional Journalists and was president…

No Picture

Vote: SPJ National Honors Candidates

July 8, 2010 0

YOUR FEEDBACK SOUGHT SPJ leaders are currently in the final stages of selecting recipients for the annual national honors. The awards honor individuals and groups that have impacted journalism and First Amendment issues over the past year. All SPJ members are invited to view …