The Lisagors Go Statewide! Entries due by Jan. 11, 2016


CHICAGO, November 23, 2015 – Journalists, critics and bloggers from across Illinois will be eligible for the first time to compete this year for the prestigious Lisagor prizes awarded by the Chicago Headline Club, one of the largest Society of Professional Journalists chapter in the U.S.

The awards for exemplary journalism, named after Peter Lisagor, a former Washington bureau chief for the Chicago Daily News, have been presented by the Headline Club since 1977.  Their purpose is to inspire journalists to follow Lisagor’s example of excellence.  

Until this year, the awards were limited to nominees based in Chicago and northwest Indiana. The Headline Club now is extending its recognition to the best journalism from the full state of Illinois in 2015.

“This is a state that needs and produces superb journalism, and those efforts need to be highlighted and encouraged,” said Odette Yousef, Headline Club president and a reporter at WBEZ 91.5FM.

Lisagor was an influential newspaper correspondent and columnist in the 1960s and ‘70s who regularly appeared on Meet the Press and Face the Nation. When he won a Peabody Award in 1973, the organization called him a “master of incisive interrogation” and said he was inspired by an editor who advised reporters to “walk down the middle of the street and shoot the windows out on both sides.”  

The Lisagor contest includes 128 awards in seven categories, including general interest, broadcast TV and radio, both daily and non-daily print, online, specialty/trade and documentaries. The Headline Club added two new awards this year: Best Data Journalism and Best Design.

The club also awards three special prizes: The Watchdog Award, for excellence in public interest reporting; The Anne Keegan Award, named after a former Chicago Tribune reporter who highlighted the plight and achievements of the common man; and The Lifetime Achievement Award.

Nominations must be received online by January 11, 2016, for work between January and December, 2015. Nominated work should be entered at The 39th annual Lisagor Awards presentation and dinner will be held Friday, May 6, 2016, at The Union League Club of Chicago. Finalists will be named in mid-March.  

Questions? E-mail or call 872-267-2242.