The 2016 Lisagor Awards contest is live!

The Chicago Headline Club is now accepting nominations for 2016 Annual Peter Lisagor Awards!

Reports must have been published or aired between January 1, 2016, and December 31, 2016. Entries must be the original work of journalists in Illinois or who work for news media based in the state or northwest Indiana.

Please note that through January 13, 2017, each entry will cost $50 for non-members; $30 for Chicago Headline Club members. After that, through January 31, 2017 each entry will cost $70 for non-members; $50 for Chicago Headline Club members. Join now and save.

Download the list of 2016 Lisagor categories.

To enter:

  1. Go to
  2. Select ‘Contestant’
  3. Click on “open” to be an Open Contestant.
  4. If you entered previous Lisagor Award contests, your email and password should be the same.
  5. If this is your first time entering the Lisagor Awards, click on “Create your Open Call account” and follow the prompts.
  6. The categories will mirror those found in the Lisagor entry forms mailed earlier this month.

Please note — The following categories did not appear in the entry form.  They are posted online.

Category A11 — Best Data Journalism.  Innovative use of data to illustrate a story, including the use of the Freedom of Information Act and other open-records tools.

Category D38 — Best Arts Reporting and Criticism, circulation more than 100,000.  Story or series on a single subject.

Questions? E-mail

Good luck!